Travel Diaries #2 Mumbai

Well I have reached Mumbai and it has been a hectic day. I almost didn’t write this post because I haven’t slept in 72 hours.

The day started with the Mehendi Ceremony of the wedding. For those of you who don’t know what that is, here’s Wikipedia’s definition

Mehndi or “Mehendi” is a form of body art from Ancient India, in which decorative designs are created on a person’s body, using a paste, created from the powdered dry leaves of the henna plant(Lawsonia inermis).

Wow that sounds fancy, but it really is just some really pretty maroon designs on your hands. Here’s mine

 

After the mehendi, I realized I had a whole day to myself and decided to go and meet some of my friends from where I used to live in Mumbai so for the first time, I traveled alone using the Mumbai Local Trains and it was quite a nice experience. The cab ride from the station was lovely too and I got to see all the places so familiar to me in a new light.

 

 

Visiting all these place that I’ve had so many memories was great but I did get a little uncomfortable meeting my old friends. Not that they weren’t welcoming or enthusiastic but it has been so many years and I hadn’t realized how much they’d changed in the past years. I’m the kind of person who hangs on to her past a little too tightly and it was slightly surprising to see how much they had changed.

I did enjoy the journey down the memory lane and Mumbai as always never ceases to amaze.

To conclude I’m including a list of all the places I went to today that I’d recommend you to visit if you’re ever here. I’ll be doing this for each day –

  1. Marine Drive – It’s the seaside in the South side of Mumbai and the view is simply amazing. The sea breeze is soothing and there are shops serving Kulfi’s that are simply divine.
  2. A ride through locals – While this is very common and not so glamorous, its always nice to see the real and integral side of a place

That’s all for today. Hope you have a great day

One comment

Leave a Reply

