Travel Diaries #3 Mumbai

My third day here started off really slow – I finally managed to catch up on sleep so I don’t look like a zombie anymore!

Today was all about shopping. While most of what I bought was for myself, the shopping was less for myself and more for my mother. When we lived here before, we’d go to this street called Causeway in the weekends and have a great time shopping. Not only are the shops there amazing, some of the most iconic places to visit in Mumbai are in Causeway and my mum really misses shopping there – which is why I did 2 hours of shopping while simultaneously texting mum on the phone so she could tell me where to go and what to buy.

Here are my favorites though – I got a Harry Potter watch and a Deathly Hallows key chain! This is exactly why I love it there – you can always find fandom merchandise if you look close enough.

The next stop was Leopold Cafe. Leopold Cafe is an Iranian restaurant and it’s quite popular. It’s extensively mentioned in the novel Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts (although I haven’t read the book personally). It was also attacked during the terrorist attacks on Mumbai in 2008. I have a lot of memories from there though, and the food is delicious.

 

I took the bus back from there which means in the past two days I’ve used 5 modes of transport – plane, taxi, auto, local trains and buses. That feels pretty cool.

I got back and met another one of my closest friends from before and here’s a picture she clicked – that’s me at the seaside. I learned a lot more about what had happened since I left Mumbai too.

 

That was pretty much my day other than a night time trip for ice cream. And here are my recommendations for places to visit:

  1. Causeway – Go shopping! It’s so colorful and lovely, and the fandom merchandise is an added bonus
  2. Leopold Cafe and Cafe Churchill- While shopping, both these cafe provide a great respite from the rush and the lasagna from Cafe Churchill is to die for.
  3. Naturals – This is an ice cream parlor in Mumbai which has great new flavors such as Malai, Tender Coconut and Mango Pulp.

Well that’s all for today and hope you have a great day!

One comment

Leave a Reply

