The Sims Book Tag

Hi everyone! I’m so excited to present today’s post – The Sims Book Tag, for which I was tagged by Lois and David. I can’t overstate just how awesome they are so please do check out their blog. Thank you so much!

This tag was originally created by Booktuber Hailey in Bookland.

As I write this post I feel compelled to point out that this is my third post from my miserable laptop-less life so do forgive any errors and typos. I’m still getting used to the phone (I’m unfortunately stuck in my ways sometimes, I’m still struggling with aligning text) so bear with me while I try to fix the charger.

Now that we have all that whining out of that way, let the fun begin!


THE ORIGINAL SIMS – THE BEST AUTHOR DEBUT

Finding Jake by Bryan Reardon

 

This book does not seem as well known yet and I honestly have no clue how I even found it but it was one of the most beautifully written book I have read till date. I don’t want to give any spoilers so I can’t really say much about it, but it’s definitely worth a read. To avoid any spoilers, I’ve decided to include the Goodreads description alone.

While his successful wife goes off to her law office each day, Simon Connolly takes care of their kids, Jake and Laney. Now that they are in high school, the angst-ridden father should feel more relaxed, but he doesn’t. He’s seen the statistics, read the headlines. And now, his darkest fear is coming true. There has been a shooting at school. 

Simon races to the rendezvous point, where he’s forced to wait. Do they know who did it? How many victims were there? Why did this happen? One by one, parents are led out of the room to reunite with their children. Their numbers dwindle, until Simon is alone.

As his worst nightmare unfolds, and Jake is the only child missing, Simon begins to obsess over the past, searching for answers, for hope, for the memory of the boy he raised, for mistakes he must have made, for the reason everything came to this. Where is Jake? What happened in those final moments? Is it possible he doesn’t really know his son? Or does he knows him better than he thought?


 

THE GRIM REAPER – SADDEST CHARACTER DEATH

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling

 

There was a tough competition between two for this category but I think I’ll go with Dobby, The Free Elf. That was just…. Painful. Even in the movie.


SIMS GETTING STUCK – A CHARACTER THAT JUST GOT IN THE WAY

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

I loved this book so very much but Clary just got in everyone’s way. At some point I just wanted her to go away so I could have a little more Malec <3.


SIMLISH – A BOOK WITH AMAZING WRITING

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

 

This book was gorgeously written and I loved every second of reading it. The details, the storyline, the characters were all perfect. Again to avoid spoilers I think I’ll include the Goodreads description.

Marie-Laure lives with her father in Paris near the Museum of Natural History, where he works as the master of its thousands of locks. When she is six, Marie-Laure goes blind and her father builds a perfect miniature of their neighborhood so she can memorize it by touch and navigate her way home. When she is twelve, the Nazis occupy Paris and father and daughter flee to the walled citadel of Saint-Malo, where Marie-Laure’s reclusive great-uncle lives in a tall house by the sea. With them they carry what might be the museum’s most valuable and dangerous jewel.

In a mining town in Germany, the orphan Werner grows up with his younger sister, enchanted by a crude radio they find. Werner becomes an expert at building and fixing these crucial new instruments, a talent that wins him a place at a brutal academy for Hitler Youth, then a special assignment to track the resistance. More and more aware of the human cost of his intelligence, Werner travels through the heart of the war and, finally, into Saint-Malo, where his story and Marie-Laure’s converge.


EXPANSION PACK – A SERIES WHERE THE BOOKS KEEP ON GETTING BETTER

Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer

 

This was the series that got me into reading in the first place but the books honestly really became good starting from the third one i.e Artemis Fowl and the Eternity Code. I enjoyed reading this series thoroughly and they’ve given me great memories of my childhood.


SIM ROMANCE – THE WORST CASE OF INSTA LOVE

Trylle trilogy (#1 Switched) by Amanda Hocking

 

The love story in this book was just a tad too much for me. Wendy and Finn could not possibly have fallen in love so fast. It was a very unrealistic case of Insta love and I remember liking the book at first but I could not stand it on second read.


CHEATS – A BOOK THAT WAS ENTIRELY UNREALISTIC

Pretty Little Liars (#15 Toxic) by Sara Shepard

 

I’ll admit it. One summer when I was really bored, I read the whole series. It took me barely three days to get through the whole thing and I was just curious to know what the story was. But then when that girl fell off a lighthouse and survived, the story got far too unrealistic for my taste and I dropped it.


NEEDS FULFILMENT – A CHARACTER WHO MADE ALL THE WRONG DECISIONS

Divergent by Veronica Roth

 

Tris made so many wrong decisions!

*Spoilers*

She killed Will, which I understand wasn’t her fault but she couldn have told Christina immediately. But no! She had to wait till she was in front of literally a stadium and everyone thought she had no choice but to tell the truth (although she technically did). She hid things from Tobias which led to them fighting even upto the end, left so many things unsaid, held a grudge against her brother only to go back on it at exactly the worst possible moment. She really did get it wrong so very many times.


ERROR CODE 12 – A SERIES THAT STARTED OFF GREAT BUT WENT DOWNHILL FROM THERE

Ender’s Game Series by Orson Scott Card

 

I’m not saying that the last few books were bad. However they definitely didn’t pique my interest as much as the first few and by the end, I was just reading them for the sake of closure.


THE SIM VORTEX – A BOOK/SERIES THAT COMPLETELY ENGROSSED YOU

The Martian by Andy Weir

 

If I haven’t said it enough already on my previous posts, here it is. I really did love and still love reading this book so much.


MY NOMINATIONS

Ah well. I’d love to be able to nominate more but here are the one’s I would like to nominate

Ryann the Reader

And that’s all for today. While it has been a true pain to type out this in my phone (ugh! I miss my laptop) I really have enjoyed this tag so much! Thank you again Lois and David for making me part of this wonderful tag!

Leave a Reply

