Top 5 Wednesdays – Books You Felt Betrayed By

Hello everyone! I present to you Top 5 Wednesdays, a weekly meme hosted on Goodreads. Here’s the link in case you want to join too!

Today’s topic, “Books I felt Betrayed By”, had me thinking for a while. While I tried to make a list, I realised that while a lot of books made me feel betrayed due to untimely character deaths and shocking ends, I still loved these books and wouldn’t want them to change because the ending made them what they are. 


So here’s the list of books I felt betrayed by (Warning: This post is full of Spoilers)-

1. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

EVERYBODY DIED! DEAR LORD DID THAT BOOK FRUSTRATE ME!

I’m done with that whining now. Honestly, the book did kill off pretty much everyone. Prim and Finnick were unbearable. Peeta’d been experimented on and turned against Katniss. No one seemed to have a happy ending.

While I understand that all this might’ve been important to the story line, I did want a happy ending for at least one person and I felt betrayed on not getting one.


2. Allegiant by Veronica Roth

The series started off great but the ending felt a little lukewarm. Tris dying wasn’t a bad choice as far as writing was concerned, but all the events leading up to it felt muddled and confused. I also feel like Tris and Tobias had a thoroughly unsatisfying end.


3. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

*Extreme spoiler alert*

While the Book Thief is undeniably an excellent book and is one of my absolute favorites, the ending was devastating. This is another case of a book where Everybody Died! (Quite literally, they did). And the loss of Rudy Steiner was awful. All those deaths so suddenly did leave me feeling betrayed.


4. All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

This book was so hauntingly beautiful and yet the ending was so very sad. I expected the book to take quite a different turn than it actually did. (I decided to avoid spoilers for this one)

I thought about it a lot but could not come up with a fifth so that’s all for today! Hope you enjoyed today’s top 5 (ahem, 4) and stay tuned for the next!

4 comments

Leave a Reply

