#3 Lunch Breaks at School – Meeting Leo

When I began this blog, it was with the intention of sharing a little bit of my life with the world. So far it has majorly been about all the books I love so much, because books are pretty much the most major and important part of my life. However, I also decided to write about the people closest to me. Some of you may have read the posts about my first two best friends – Xavia and Zombie. Today’s post is about best friend #3 i.e. Leo.

Since my blog is anonymous, I’ve been choosing nicknames for all the people I write about. I decided to name him Leo after Leo Valdez (Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan) for two reasons –

  1. He and Leo have several similarities in their personality
  2. He hates reading books and I want to see if curiosity will get the better of him, such that he actually reads the series to find out more about Leo

I met Leo in my first day of high school. We were both new to the school and we walked into our class and sat in the absolute last bench, put our heads down and didn’t say a word. Being a new student can be a pain and we were both pretty silent in class for the first few months. In fact, I don’t think we even spoke much till the next year.

That being said, many of my great memories of that school are with Leo. Despite the fact that I was the most moody and antisocial person  while I was in high school (I missed my old school and acted out a little), he still managed to talk to me and soon became my best friend. In fact, he’s pretty much like my little brother at this point. We squabble and disagree just as much as my actual brother and I do, and I drive him crazy whenever I can. For his part, he returns the favor too.

If I think about my best memory with him it would have to be lunch breaks in school. Our mothers packed the best lunch in class and it used to annoy us to no end that our classmates would snatch it and run away, leaving us with nothing. Eventually, we came up with a spot in the junior building where they couldn’t find us and we’d only invite a few people with us to share food with. There were often close calls where the others would walk right by our spot and it was great fun ducking down and hiding, hoping they don’t find us.

Leo’s a very different kind of friend for me. In case of Xavia and Zombie, I have a lot more in common with them than I seem to with Leo. He is the creative, artistic kind and his artwork is so very beautiful and intricate, while I couldn’t draw a straight line to save my life. I on the other hand am obsessed with books and he refuses to read a single one.  Despite the lack of similarities though, we get along far better than I could’ve imagined before and I’ve had a great time annoying him to insanity. He’s enthusiastic, funny, helpful, childish and often so very insane.

If you’re reading this (and I know you are), how about a little Harry Potter or Percy Jackson? Never harms anyone to read it!

And that’s all about him. I’m just going to post this now and wait for his messages about just how much he disapproves of this post.

P.S. the picture on the post is this key chain that he gifted me. I love it ❤

One comment

Leave a Reply

