Books I Want to Own a Copy of

As I looked for inspiration for today’s post, my thoughts instantly shifted to the most annoying book-ish problem that I have. Whenever I see a book that seems really good on my TBR, I instantly want to buy a copy but then I keep wondering, “What if the book is not good enough to re-read?” And then when I finally give in and just read it in E-book format, the book turns out to be simply amazing and I regret not having bought a copy

Don’t get me wrong. I think I have re-read every single book that I own and I could never own enough books. However, if I indulged every book-buying whim of mine, my parents would be broke by now and as it is, they already indulge my reading habit far too much. (Love you both :P)

So here’s a list of top 5 books that I would love to own a copy of, now that I have read them.


THE ULTIMATE HITCHHIKER’S GUIDE TO THE GALAXY BY DOUGLAS ADAMS

I’ve always wanted to own the whole series, even before I read it. Hitchhiker’s is a classic and it is simply amazing! It is the one series that I can reread forever without any qualms.

wp-1488980892881.jpg

The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy talks about, weird stuff that happens to Arthur Dent, regular Earth-person. This version starts when Arthur’s Planet Earth gets torn down so a Freeway can be built. His friend Ford Prefect is an alien. This sounds as a good news, because it is Ford who can save both of them when the alien Vogons come to destroy the Earth to make way for some sort of space road.

The Vogons don’t like hitchhikers, so Arthur and Ford get thrown out of the spaceship to die in the cold. Ford’s cousin Zaphod Beeblebrox and Trillian steal the Heart of Gold spaceship, which has an amazing engine that can do all sorts of improbable things. Magrathea was a planet that made other planets for rich people disappear.

Zaphod, Ford and Trillian go exploring inside the planet, while Arthur and Marvin are left on the surface. This book talks about the escape of Arthur and his friends even though the cops are after them after Zaphod stole the Heart of Gold.


THE MARTIAN BY ANDY WEIR

As I’ve said so many times before, The Martian is my favorite book and I have already reread it so many times. I can open any random page and start reading and still love it.

18007564

A mission to Mars.

A freak accident.

One man’s struggle to survive.

Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars.

Now, he’s sure he’ll be the first person to die there.

After a dust storm nearly kills him and forces his crew to evacuate the planet while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded on Mars’ surface, completely alone, with no way to signal Earth that he’s alive. And even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone years before a rescue could arrive.

Chances are, though, Mark won’t have time to starve to death. The damaged machinery, unforgiving environment or plain-old “human error” are much more likely to kill him first.

But Mark’s not ready to quit. Armed with nothing but his ingenuity and his engineering skills—and a gallows sense of humor that proves to be his greatest source of strength–he embarks on a dogged quest to stay alive, using his botany expertise to grow food and even hatching a mad plan to contact NASA back on Earth.

As he overcomes one seemingly insurmountable obstacle after the next, Mark begins to let himself believe he might make it off the planet alive.

But Mars has plenty of surprises in store for him yet.


RED QUEEN BY VICTORIA AVEYARD

I read The Red Queen recently and I loved it quite a lot and wouldn’t mind owning a copy!

red_queen_book_cover

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart.


CLOCKWORK ANGEL BY CASSANDRA CLARE

Out of all of Cassandra Clare’s books, Clockwork Angel is my favorite! I even have the Clockwork Angel pendant but I would love to the book.

CA_cover,_repackaged

In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them.


PERCY JACKSON’S GREEK GODS

Even though I haven’t been a fan of the extra books to the Percy Jackson series, I loved reading this one! Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods was humorous, informative and light-hearted in the best way possible and I love re-reading it.

Percy_Jackson's_Greek_GodsPercy_Jackson's_Greek_Gods

“A publisher in New York asked me to write down what I know about the Greek gods, and I was like, Can we do this anonymously? Because I don’t need the Olympians mad at me again. But if it helps you to know your Greek gods, and survive an encounter with them if they ever show up in your face, then I guess writing all this down will be my good deed for the week.” So begins Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods, in which the son of Poseidon adds his own magic–and sarcastic asides–to the classics. He explains how the world was created, then gives readers his personal take on a who’s who of ancients, from Apollo to Zeus. Percy does not hold back. “If you like horror shows, blood baths, lying, stealing, backstabbing, and cannibalism, then read on, because it definitely was a Golden Age for all that.” Dramatic full-color illustrations throughout by Caldecott Honoree John Rocco make this volume–a must for home, library, and classroom shelves–as stunning as it is entertaining.


And that’s all for today! Are there any books on your shelf that you are proud of, or any that you would love to own? Do leave your answers in the comments because I love hearing from all you lovely people!

9 comments

  1. That’s a cool tag. I know what you mean; I have some favorites of mine that make me happy to own in the physical sense. I’ll even buy the ebooks on sale. But most of the time I get them used so I’m still missing so many!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You are better at me when it comes to re-reading! I’ve had some books that I’ve been meaning to re-read as the years went by, but never got around to it. Anyway, you’ve made some great choices. I’ve heard so many wonderful things about The Martian so I might want to give that a try.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

