Discussion Post – How to Get Out of a Reading Slump?

This isn’t a post giving advice, I’m actually asking you. How do you get out of a reading slump?

Reading-Slumps

The last two years were the final years of school for me so I didn’t really have a lot of time to read and had to give it up for a while. Before that, I used to have a reading speed of about 3 books a week.

Now that I’m in college, I have a lot more time and I’ve begin to invest a lot of it in reading and I’m so very happy about it! However I just can’t seem to gain as much interest in the book as I used to and it takes me nearly double the time to read the same book. Here’s what I end up doing instead of reading a new book –

  1. Reread a book that I’ve read about 50,000 million times before.
  2. Eat. Look for the first snack that comes to mind
  3. Binge watch TV (Not so guilty about that really)
  4. Stare at my TBR shelf looking for inspiration
  5. Call a friend – Yep that’s right. Reading slump’s suddenly making me a social person!

So naturally I decided to sit down, buck up and read a good book and I read through all of the Red Queen Series by Victoria Aveyard and Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth. I slowly progressed and read a lot more books and presumed that I’m out of it – BUT NO! Still there. So here’s advice I’ve found from various online sources –

  1. Read a short story
  2. Reread a book you’ve already read (Haha tried that)
  3. Leave books behind for a while
  4. Read a children’s book
  5. Write your own material (Hence the blog!)

So here’s my question to you –

What do you do when you’re in a reading slump? What do you recommend I do? Are there any books you recommend to people facing the same problem?

Do leave your answers in the comments because I love hearing from all of you, and I would love advice! Thanks a lot and hope you have a great day!

Leave a Reply

