Childhood Memories – The Day I Scared My Mom

As I scrolled through my Reader today I cam across today’s prompt and it took me back instantly to one of those stories about little me that mum always recounts to everyone that comes and goes.

When I was about 3, my dad would often leave for official trips leaving mom and I alone at home. Although my mother is one of the most brave and independent woman I know, naturally she was a little afraid of being all alone and would always double check the doors and the lock while I would be playing with my dolls in the room.

One night at around 12 while mum had just finished with the dishes and was resuming her usual door check she heard sounds of conversation from the room. Terrified, she slowly put her ear to the door to discern where the sound was coming from and could hear me talking to someone and asking them if they were feeling okay.

I had always been a pretty friendly and trusting kid even to strangers, so my mum wondered if someone was in the room and rushed right in (Mama Bear that she is). Turns out it was me talking to the wall and the mirror! I was apparently having a tea party with my imaginary friends!

To this day my mum laughs as she recounts just how terrified she was in those few seconds between denial and realization. As for me, I still have fond memories of that multi-colored tea-set and the idea that I was so content with my life as a kid.

Imaginary friends represent something so amazingly adorable innocent and adorable in kids. For example, who I can never forget Joey’s imaginary friend on F.R.I.E.N.D.S. :

Picture1Picture2

I wish I could remember the name of my imaginary friends – but unfortunately no. I was too little. Do any of you have similar stories? If so, do leave yours in the comments because I’d love to hear them.

Have a great day 🙂

4 comments

Leave a Reply

