Book Reviews – Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon (Spoiler Free and With Spoilers)

Title – Everything Everything

Author – Nicola Yoon

Publisher – Delacorte Books

Genre – Young Adult, Romance

My Rating – 4/5


GOODREADS BLURB

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.


SPOILER FREE

I went into this book without knowing anything about it. In fact I hadn’t even read the Goodreads blurb. I just put it on my Kindle when I saw it popping up a lot on my reader, and found myself alone with a lot of free time and only the Kindle for company and there it began.

When I first started the story, it had a very Fault in Our Stars feeling to it. While I did like TFIOS when I read it originally, the story did eventually get on my nerves once it was continually over-hyped. I’ve just always had trouble with Insta-love books because they almost never appeal to me. That’s why if you’d asked me to rate this book when I was halfway through it, I probably would’ve given it a 2/5.

The redeeming factor for me though was the ending (which I will discuss in the spoiler section). While I’ve now come across many reviews that criticize the ending, I found it different, interesting and a slightly new approach to the genre. The ending was unexpected for me and it is what made me raise the reading by 2 points.

Overall, the book did bore me a little and I wouldn’t recommend it for those you dislike the concept of insta-love or even many who dislike books about sickness. However, the ending is worth holding out for in many ways and gives the book a whole new look and feel.


WITH SPOILERS

In all honesty, I did not enjoy the book in the beginning. It was fairly easy for me to draw a comparison between Hazel Grace Lancaster and Madeleine Whittier and that made the book feel repetitive. I did like Maddy as a character, but that’s only because I liked Hazel too. There is no particular defining trait that makes either of the characters likeable, but they have a certain air of simplicity and practicality that I can relate to. Olly again was a very common boy next door variety for me, but not unlikeable.

The progression of the plot line was pretty slow. It was fairly predictable what would happen i.e. they would fall in love and it would have repercussions. I was least surprised when Maddy decided to run to Hawaii with Olly.

All through the book I presumed that since they wouldn’t want the book to entirely be a copy of TFIOS, the story would progress towards a happy ending, with Maddy’s mom realizing that Maddy and Olly were in love and them learning to live together despite it. A contrary possible story line was each finding things to move on to and living happily ever after. Any of these outcomes would’ve have still made it a total bore.

So naturally, I was taken aback when it turns out that Maddy never had SCID. It provided a certain uniqueness to the book and the story which I love and I would’ve loved to learn more about it from her mother’s point of view, and why she chose to take such drastic measures and lie to her daughter about her disease. I’ve seen many reviews on Goodreads that claim that the ending feels like a cheap out, like they were backing away from the plot itself, but are happy endings really all that bad?

The ending cannot even be termed as happy as it is. Maddy has spent her whole life with her mother alone and to find out that someone so close to you could betray you in this manner has to take a toll on a person. Not to mention, she lost her childhood and this definitely will affect her in her adult years.

Going slightly off topic here, lately among my own friends, I’ve found that many dislike happy endings because they seem “unrealistic” and that troubles me because for me, books are an escape from reality. My life is fantastic in itself but sometimes when you’re absorbed in a book and see the possibility of a happy ending, it gives you more hope for the future.

I’m not against sad endings – all I’m saying is give happy endings a chance.

In any case coming back to the book, the redeeming factor of the book for me definitely was the plot twist. It might’ve been fairly predictable for some but it was completely shocking for me and it made me enjoy the book all the more

And that’s all there is to say about Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon. Thanks a lot and have a great day!

3 comments

  1. I liked your review! & I agree with you, the beginning was rather boring and I did not care for the whole insta-love thing. The ending I have to admit shocked me because I did not see it coming at all! But I just felt like something was missing, like I wanted more from the ending. They just leave it like yeah, she’s not sick, and yeah she’s mad at her mom, but like her mom was sick the whole time so could there have been more on that? Sorry got a little rambly there! It’s funny I want more, but I really don’t want a second novel 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

