Top 5 Wednesdays – Favorite “Unlikeable” Protagonists

Hi everyone and welcome to another Top 5 Wednesdays! Top 5 Wednesdays is a weekly meme hosted on a Goodreads Group, the link to which I have included here in case any of you would like to join.

Today’s topic is Favorite “Unlikeable” Protagonists, or protagonists that people normally hate but I actually enjoy reading about. Here we go:


MARGO ROTH SPIEGELMAN

Paper Towns by John Green

I’ve actually read quite a lot of reviews and hear a lot of people who don’t quite like Margo but I really did somehow. She did seem slightly unlikeable in a few parts, but overall I think I really liked her as a character.


JACE WAYLAND

The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

In the latter half of the series, Jace wasn’t quite likeable. I loved Jace in the first book and even though he wasn’t quite as fantastic in the subsequent books, I stil love Jace. ❤


NICK DUNNE

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Many reviews hate on Nick because lets face it, Nick and Amy did horrible things to each other. But I never really hated Nick. He was just a normal guy trapped in a loveless marriage, and I do like him as a narrator and a character!


SADIE KANE

The Kane Chronicles by Rick Riordan

This one’s actually surprising for me because I simply love Sadie! Still many of my friends find her unlikeable and that annoys me because I find her fantabulous, and quirky and so badass.


EUSTACE CLARENCE SCRUBB

The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

Lets face it – Eustace was terribly unlikeable in the beginning of the Voyage of the Dawn Treader. But he became better eventually and I do like him as a character!


And thats all for today! Hope you have a great day!

11 comments

  1. I love that you included Nick Dunne on this list! I put Amy on my list because I personally found her a lot more fascinating, and horrible, than Nick, but I also enjoy Nick as a character. He makes some bad decisions but he gets more hate than he deserves.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post! I have to say I didn’t like Nick (in the movie, I haven’t read the book yet) because he could have just left… And he chose the easy way instead. He was a bit pathetic in my opinion. Sure, nothing justified what Amy did to him, ever. But I didn’t root for either of them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

