Travel Diaries #9 Singapore

Hi everyone and welcome to another Travel Diary entry! This time I write to you from the lovely Singapore!

As I am writing this post, it has already been 6 days since my arrival. Whew, time flies! I have gone to quite a lot of tourist spots but I think I’ll introduce them one by one. Today’s post in about the Singapore Zoo.

WhatsApp Image 2017-06-25 at 9.32.33 PM

Before we get into it however, here’s a story that we heard on the Night Safari that fascinated me. According to this story, Singapore was first found by the Sumatran Prince Sang Nila Utama. When he arrived on the land he saw a Lion, hence leading to the name Singapura (Singa=Lion, Pura=City). However, despite what historical records suggest, the travel guide said that Lions had never been native to the city! So no one really knows exactly what it was that the Lion saw.

I found the story quite fascinating and thought you might like it too. Going back to the Zoo, we went for two events at the Zoo – the River Safari and the Night Safari.

WhatsApp Image 2017-06-25 at 9.35.47 PM

The Night Safari was extremely fascinating! We took a tram ride through the Jungle with Lions, Wolves and Hyenas merely a few feet away from us and with no barrier separating us! However, they were apparently well fed and trained because they never came anywhere close to us. As flash photography was prohibited in the Night Safari, I can’t share any of those moments here with you.

The River Safari is another story. We took a boat ride through a river between the forests while observing animals in their natural habitat. Here are a few pictures that I clicked.

WhatsApp Image 2017-06-25 at 9.32.51 PM
A Sting Ray
WhatsApp Image 2017-06-25 at 9.33.07 PM.jpeg
A solitary Stork
WhatsApp Image 2017-06-25 at 9.33.39 PM
Can you spot the Salamander?
WhatsApp Image 2017-06-25 at 9.34.21 PM
A Red Panda
WhatsApp Image 2017-06-25 at 9.36.26 PM.jpeg
Storks in the wild – Always in motion, Transient in nature
whatsapp-image-2017-06-25-at-9-36-07-pm.jpeg
Giraffes hiding behind the bushes
WhatsApp Image 2017-06-25 at 9.38.10 PM
A Seal out of the water

WhatsApp Image 2017-06-25 at 9.38.20 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2017-06-25 at 9.38.23 PM.jpeg
An Emperor Tamarin Monkey with its Moustache fluterring

There are so many more pictures I’d love to share but I feel like I’ve overdosed you with pictures enough. Both Safaris were extraordinary experiences and I couldn’t wait to share these with you guys.

That’s all for today, Hope you have a great day!

14 comments

  1. :O Huge welcome to Singapore! I live here so welcome to my homeland. XD Glad to see that you are having fun. :3 I’ll be looking forward to reading more of your posts. Also, if you are still in Singapore, I highly suggest that you check out xcape, a reality escape room game. They have a branch at Bugis and it is really very realistic and fun. You can find out more at this website: http://www.xcape.sg/
    psst I got hooked to this game after trying it out for the first time with my friends. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      • Np! I suggest that you all book a room before going. Just in case someone else already booked the room when you get there. 🙂 Glad to hear that you are having fun. xcape is found at the shophouses area at bugis. There will be staircases between the ground floor stores leading up to the floors above. Keep a lookout for the xcape sign and the 152B sign at the top of the staircase. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I suggest that you ask them whether you will still be able to play the game if you have lesser than 4 people. Maybe they will combine your group with another group.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I love to go for another escape room challenge. XD Too bad I’ll most probably be working when you all go for it. 😦 Don’t really have to worry about getting scared though. The previous escape room I’ve been to doesn’t have any scare actors in it. It is usually the lighting and music that creeps you out. A suggestion would be to think out of the box. This company has one of the best escape room games as compared to others I’ve been to in Singapore. I have a feeling that you and your family will have tons of fun. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

