Book Reviews – Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (Spoiler Free)

My first 5 star rating in a long time! Actually, this is the first book that I’ve read and given 5 stars to since I started this blog.

Title – Six of Crows

Author – Leigh Bardugo

Publisher – Henry Holt and Company

Genre – Young Adult, Fantasy

My Rating – 5/5


GOODREADS BLURB

Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker has been offered wealth beyond his wildest dreams. But to claim it, he’ll have to pull off a seemingly impossible heist:

Break into the notorious Ice Court
(a military stronghold that has never been breached)

Retrieve a hostage
(who could unleash magical havoc on the world)

Survive long enough to collect his reward
(and spend it)

Kaz needs a crew desperate enough to take on this suicide mission and dangerous enough to get the job done – and he knows exactly who: six of the deadliest outcasts the city has to offer. Together, they just might be unstoppable – if they don’t kill each other first.


MY OPINION

What can I even say about this book that hasn’t already been said? The hype surrounding this book is very well known amongst us book bloggers which strangely made me all the more hesitant to read it. I made it a point not to read even the littlest clues about the story before I started it, lest I be disappointed.

As if Six of Crows could ever disappoint me! This book was fabulous. It had a rich plot, rich characters and the writing in itself was so captivating! What more can a reader even ask for!

I finished reading the book about two weeks ago but I decided to hold off on posting a review till I’d formed a clearer opinion in my head. The only thing about the book that did trouble me a little was there was so many elements. I’ve never read a book by Leigh Bardugo before and so had no idea about his writing. There were numerous characters, each having distinct personality traits, belonging to different regions (Are they called countries? Tribes? Cities?) and it was kind of hard to keep track of who could do what and belonged to which region in the beginning. Once I had it figured out though, there was no turning back.

Kaz is the perfect anti-hero for me. He doesn’t even pretend to be a nice guy and somehow I just loved that – as cliche as that might sound. There was one part that did get a little too violent for me –

(*EXTREMELY MINOR SPOILER ALERT*) The part with Kaz and Oomen was really really violent, what with the description and everything. I mean I get why Kaz was pissed at Oomen but blech. I hate violence. (*OVER*) 

Overall however, my favorite was Inej. At first Inej didn’t seem realistic as a character to me and I didn’t like her all that much, but as the story progressed and her life, her fears and her dreams were slowly revealed, I began loving her more and more.

All through reading the book, I thought it was a Standalone book. When I read the ending and realized there was a sequel I was beyond overjoyed! Can’t wait to get started.

And that’s all for today! Hope you have a great day!

4 comments

Leave a Reply

