Top 5 Thursdays #8 – Movies That Ruined the Book For Me

Hi everyone and welcome to Top 5 Thursdays. Top 5 Thursdays is my very own segment that I write on days that coincide with my alternate day schedule. I use these lists to share all my non-bookish interests with you.

Today’s topic however does have a bit of a bookish influence. While I know most of these answers are really common among readers, here are the movies that were terrible compared to the movies.


THE HUNGER GAMES SERIES (2012)

Image result for The Hunger Games

This movie will always top any such list of mine. Despite having an amazing cast, I have no idea why I could not stand the movies. In fact, I didn’t even watch the last one. The book was really perfect and I felt like the movie was never quite true to it.


DIVERGENT (2014)

Image result

I don’t even quite know why I didn’t like this one – I just didn’t. I liked Shailene Woodley and Ansel Elgort in the Fault in Our Stars but I just didn’t want to watch the movies even a little bit. As it is, the books didn’t keep me captivated throughout but the movie was worse.


PERCY JACKSON (2010)

Image result for Percy Jackson film series

Don’t even get me started on this one! I felt like all they took from the books for this one is the characters. EVERYTHING else was different. I loved Annabeth in the books and I couldn’t stand her in the movie. Percy wasn’t too great either. More importantly, Percy and Annabeth were 11 in the first book – in the movie they were 16. I don’t mind deviation from the story if its good but these were unnecessary and totally not interesting to me.


HARRY POTTER (2001)

Image result for Harry Potter

Honestly, I did like the first movie. It was sweet and adorable and Harry’s sense of bewonderment when he saw the magical world were just so cute! However, with every subsequent movie, I slowly lost interest one by one. I still watched because duh – It’s Harry Potter. And yet, they bear no compare to the books.


ENDER’S GAME (2013)

Image result

I didn’t even manage to finish this movie. The book was great but the movie was just meh. It didn’t interest me even a little bit.


Wow that is a lot of negativity! To make up for all this, my next Top 5 Thursdays is going to be about Favorite Movies Based on Books so stay tuned.

Thanks and have a great day!

Project - Drawing 1154285076

4 comments

Leave a Reply

