ARC Review – Only Dead on the Inside by James Breakwell

*major fangirling alert*

Title – Only Dead on the Inside: A Parent’s Guide to Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse

Author – James Breakwell

Publisher – BenBella Books

Genre – Humor

My Rating – 4/5

GOODREADS BLURB

It’s not easy being a parent these days. There are bills to pay. Kids to feed. And hordes of undead monsters to keep at bay.

There are plenty of guides out there about how to survive the zombie apocalypse. All of them assume readers are young, fit, and unencumbered by children. In that scenario, the only living humans left will be smug, outdoorsy Millennials. That’s hell on earth, even without the zombies.

Only Dead on the Inside is the answer for the rest of us.

Written by professional comedy writer and amateur father-of-four James Breakwell (@XplodingUnicorn), Only Dead on the Inside blends traditional parenting advice with zombie survival tips, bringing together two totally unrelated genres in a book no one asked for but everyone needs.

This step-by-step manual teaches you how to raise happy, healthy children in a world overrun by the undead. Motivated moms and dads want it all, and that won’t change at the end of the world. There’s no reason you can’t be a zombie killing machine AND parent of the year, but you have to work for it.

If you want to make sure your family is apocalypse-ready, Only Dead on the Inside is your best–and only–chance at survival. No pressure, but if you don’t read this book, your children will die.


MY OPINION

I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review and can I just say – AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! I’ve been following James Breakwell a.k.a. @XplodingUnicorn for about 2 years now even though I didn’t even have an account on Twitter. I even got my mom hooked to it. When he tweeted that he was releasing a book, I was already super excited. And then when I accidentally found it on NetGalley I was over the moon!

The book did not disappoint one bit. This is not really my genre – as you all know I’m mostly into YA. However, the book made me laugh so much on the Metro that I got at least 5 creeped out looks – one being my own mother. I will always like his tweets far more than the book, because his daughter’s are straight up adorable and its amazing that even after 2 years, I have still not grown tired of his tweets. Here’s one of my favorites –

Screenshot_2017-07-04-14-46-34-784.jpeg

For all of you who want a little light-hearted laughter and a break from all the seriousness of other books – do check out Only Dead on the Inside.

And that’s all for today! Hope you have a great day!

Project - Drawing 1154285076

2 comments

Leave a Reply

