Book Review – Kitty Hawk and the Curse of Yukon Gold by Iain Reading


Title – Kitty Hawk and the Curse of Yukon Gold (Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency #1)

Author – Iain Reading

Genre – Mystery, Middle Grade, Adventure

My Rating – 4/5

Untitled design


Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold is the thrilling first installment in a new young adult series of adventure mystery stories by Iain Reading. This first book of the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series introduces Kitty Hawk, an intrepid teenage pilot with her own De Havilland Beaver seaplane and a nose for mystery and intrigue. A cross between Amelia Earhart, Nancy Drew and Pippi Longstocking, Kitty is a quirky young heroine with boundless curiosity and a knack for getting herself into all kinds of precarious situations.

After leaving her home in the western Canadian fishing village of Tofino to spend the summer in Alaska studying humpback whales, Kitty finds herself caught up in an unforgettable adventure involving stolen gold, devious criminals, ghostly shipwrecks, and bone-chilling curses. Kitty’s adventure begins with the lingering mystery of a sunken ship called the Clara Nevada. As the plot continues to unfold, this spirited story will have readers anxiously following every twist and turn as they are swept along through the history of the Klondike Gold Rush to a suspenseful final climatic chase across the rugged terrain of Canada’s Yukon.

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold is a perfect book to fire the imagination of readers of all ages. Filled with fascinating and highly Google-able locations and history this book will inspire anyone to learn and experience more for themselves.

Untitled design


I received a Review Copy of Kitty Hawk and the Curse of Yukon Gold from the publicist/author in exchange for an honest review.

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of Yukon Gold is the first book in the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency by Iain Reading. As the description above implies, Kitty Hawk has a very Nancy Drew vibe to her which was why I was pretty excited about reading this book! I’ve always been a big fan of Nancy Drew, Hardy Boys and all the childhood classics of the sort and I was looking forward to finding out what this book had in store for me.

The first thing that I have to highlight, which I now realize was always missing from the stories I read as a kid, is the book was so very informative! A lot of reviews claimed they enjoyed the book because of Kitty Hawk as a character but it was the fascinating facts that made me enjoy the book even more. The topics covered in the book range from Gold Rushes, to Whales to even sushi! I had never heard of Gold Rushes before and ended up reading up a lot more about them after I was done with the book. The book is pretty useful for children to learn about such topics.

The second thing that I loved about the book was the little maps illustrating the entire book. The moment I received the book, I began flipping through it and they were pretty captivating and made it so easy to follow Kitty Hawk’s journey.

As a character, Kitty was pretty brilliant and independent which I did like, but I think I enjoyed the story-line itself far more. Kitty’s life, like it is in all children’s books, was far too perfect as everything did line up quite a little too easily for her, but nevertheless I did like the Amelia Earhart vibe. When facing adverse circumstances, Kitty is optimistic and resourceful and I really did love that! The first 10-15 pages were slightly discordant and a little confusing but once the actual story of her travelling to Juneau began I was right with her!

Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency series has 5 books, the next one being Kitty Hawk and the Hunt for Hemingway’s Ghost which I’m definitely looking forward to reading it. It is the perfect series to pique a child’s imagination. Overall, Kitty Hawk and the Curse of Yukon Gold gets 4 stars from me!

Untitled design


There are currently five books in the the series: Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold (book 1), Kitty Hawk and the Hunt for Hemingway’s Ghost (book 2), Kitty Hawk and the Icelandic Intrigue (book 3), and Kitty Hawk and the Tragedy of the RMS Titanic (book 4), and Kitty Hawk and the Mystery of the Masterpieces (book 5).

In each book, Kitty Hawk finds herself in a new geographic location. The series will eventually have a total of 13 books in it (maybe more) and her flight around the world will be completed in the end.

To learn more, go to

Also, be sure to check out the book trailer:

Untitled design


Iain Reading.jpg

Iain Reading is passionate about Root Beer, music, and writing. He is Canadian, but currently resides in the Netherlands working for the United Nations.

He is the author of several books, including the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series, The Wizards of Waterfire Series, and the dragon of the month club.

Readers can connect with Iain on Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads. To learn more, go to

Untitled design

And that’s all for today! Hope you have a great day! Until next time

Project - Drawing 1154285076


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s