Book Review – My Whole Truth by Mischa Thrace

Title – My Whole Truth

Author – Mischa Thrace

Genre – Mystery

My Rating – 4/5

Untitled design

GOODREADS BLURB

Goodreads Link

Seventeen-year-old Seelie Stanton never wanted to kill someone. She never wanted to be invisible in her own family, never wanted to crush on her best friend Alyssa, and she definitely never wanted to know how effectively a mallet could destroy someone’s head. 

But the universe doesn’t care what she wants. Shane Mayfield doesn’t care what Seelie wants either. When the former high school basketball star attacks her, she has no choice but to defend herself. She saved her own life, but she can’t bring herself to talk about what happened that night. Not all of it. Not even when she’s arrested for murder.

Untitled design

MY REVIEW

I received an e-ARC of My Whole Truth by Mischa Thrace from NetGalley and the publishers in exchange for an honest review.

First of all there are several trigger warnings that you should consider before picking this one up. To name just the basic few – sexual assault, bullying, drug use, murder and so on. There is even a politically sensitive issue that some may disapprove of.

With that, lets talk about the story itself. This was certainly a lot darker than I expected a Young Adult novel to be. The very opening of the book is a 911 call from the protagonist Seelie after being attacked and even from there, life only goes downhill for her. We go right from her suffering this traumatic experience to being blamed for it. At many points, I couldn’t help but feel angry and helpless about the story line. It’s a shocking reminder of so many things that are wrong with the world.

The characters of the story are equally infuriating. To be more specific, I could not stand Seelie’s mom. Even though I understand that she had to face several hardships in life, she was such a bad parent! After all of the problems that Seelie seemed to be facing she should’ve been supporting her, not acting like she was an additional burden in life. Despite the fact that she was a very minor character in the story, I couldn’t help but be infuriated by her every action.

The writing of the book is addictive and it is definitely a page turner. I was hooked from the first sentence and couldn’t put it down. I sped through it in about 5 hours. It has a great (albeit slightly predictable) plot and the writing was truly stunning.

Overall, My Whole Truth by Mischa Thrace gets 4 out of 5 stars from me.

Untitled design

And that’s all for today! Hope you have a great day! Until next time –

Project - Drawing 1154285076

Leave a comment