Book Review – Gone Without a Trace by Mary Torjussen

Title – Gone Without a Trace

Author – Mary Torjussen

Genre – Mystery, Thriller, Suspense

My Rating – 2/5

Untitled design

GOODREADS BLURB

Goodreads Link

GONE WITHOUT A TRACE by Mary Torjussen is a chilling, twisty, compulsive thriller about a woman whose boyfriend has vanished. Fans of I LET YOU GO and THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN will be gripped.

No one ever disappears completely…

You leave for work one morning.

Another day in your normal life.

Until you come home to discover that your boyfriend has gone.
His belongings have disappeared.
He hasn’t been at work for weeks.
It’s as if he never existed.

But that’s not possible, is it?

And there is worse still to come.

Because just as you are searching for him
someone is also watching you.

Untitled design

MY REVIEW

Honestly? Meh.

The first thing that comes to my mind when I try to review this book was that it was a huge disappointment. I came across Gone Without a Trace back when I had just opened my NetGalley account. While my request for the book wasn’t approved, I do absolutely love Thrillers and had since been pretty intrigued. I was super excited when I finally got the book but it was all downhill from there.

Gone Without a Trace tried to unnecessarily build up suspense for a real downer of an ending. From the very beginning of the book I could feel myself lose interest which is pretty bad for whats supposed to be a “gripping thriller”. I kept hoping for a great ending but instead it was extremely predictable and kind of disappointing.

Moving on to the characters – unfortunately not a lot of positives their either. Hannah’s entire life became a wreck the moment her boyfriend Matt left which in itself I found very annoying. There were so many unnecessary side arcs whose entire point seemed to be to distract the reader from the story line. I couldn’t quite get myself to care about Matt and Katie (Hannah’s best friend) was just so catty and mean.

Overall, Gone Without a Trace by Mary Torjussen gets 2 out of 5 stars from me.

Untitled designAnd that’s all for today! Hope you have a great day! Until next time –

Project - Drawing 1154285076

Leave a comment