Book Review – Outrun the Wind by Elizabeth Tammi

Title – Outrun the Wind

Author – Elizabeth Tammi

Genre – Fantasy, LGBT, Mythology, Young Adult, Romance

My Rating – 4/5

Untitled design

GOODREADS BLURB

Goodreads LinkThe Huntresses of Artemis must obey two rules: never disobey the goddess, and never fall in love. After being rescued from a harrowing life as an Oracle of Delphi, Kahina is glad to be a part of the Hunt; living among a group of female warriors gives her a chance to reclaim her strength, even while her prophetic powers linger. But when a routine mission goes awry, Kahina breaks the first rule in order to save the legendary huntress Atalanta. 

To earn back Artemis’s favor, Kahina must complete a dangerous task in the kingdom of Arkadia— where the king’s daughter is revealed to be none other than Atalanta. Still reeling from her disastrous quest and her father’s insistence on marriage, Atalanta isn’t sure what to make of Kahina. As her connection to Atalanta deepens, Kahina finds herself in danger of breaking Artemis’ second rule.

She helps Atalanta devise a dangerous game to avoid marriage, and word spreads throughout Greece, attracting suitors willing to tempt fate to go up against Atalanta in a race for her hand. But when the men responsible for both the girls’ dark pasts arrive, the game turns deadly.

Untitled design

MY REVIEW

Reason I Read It – I love any books with a mix of Fiction and Greek Mythology so I just had to request this one on NetGalley.


I received an e-ARC of Outrun the Wind by Elizabeth Tammi from NetGalley and the publishers in exchange for an honest review. I recently had the author over for a Guest Post on my blog which you can check out here.

The moment I found a book with Greek Mythology I just had to pick it up and I’m glad it did not disappoint. Outrun the Wind re-imagines the story of Atalanta, the legendary Greek hero. This was one of my first F/F reads and I loved the concept of Queer Greek Mythology.

The book alternates between the perspectives of Atalanta and Kahina. I loved that the author set such strong, independent female protagonists in the backdrop of ancient mythology. Both characters are likeable, well fleshed out and I couldn’t help but root for them.

The writing and the plot are also wonderful. I was quite surprised when I found out that this was a debut novel I did want some events in the ending to go better but I was nevertheless fascinated by the book.

I will point out that if you are looking for a historically accurate story, then this book isn’t for you. The author takes actual facts from Atalanta’s story and weaves them with fictitious characters and stories seamlessly to give an enthralling story about two girls against the world.

Overall, Outrun the Wind gets 4 out of 5 Stars from me!

Untitled design

And that’s all for today! Hope you have a great day! Until next time –

Project - Drawing 1154285076

2 comments

Leave a comment