I’m Back! Reasons I Left

Or at least I hope so!

The title says it all! My blog has been inactive for about a year now so I’m a little rusty at this but I’m ready to get back after this extremely long hiatus, and yes, explain my absence while I’m at it too. While I know that there is no need to provide a lengthy post full of explanations, I think this post is more to remind myself why I quit and what no to do this time. Here we go –

Untitled design

I STARTED TO AVOID READING

While one of the greatest perks of blogging for me was the ARCs, it was in the end my downfall. I generally received ARCs through NetGalley or write-ins from the writer and I did find a few gems among these like:

However, a majority of them were books I wouldn’t normally pick up and I soon lost interest in reading.

Lately, I have been going through my own collections based on recommendations and my love for reading is back! I will eventually go back to accepting ARCs but will probably be really selective about them.


STRINGENT BLOGGING SCHEDULE

If any of you are reading this, and used to follow me before the hiatus, I used to have a schedule where I posted 3-4 posts a week which basically worked out to a post every 2 days. BAD IDEA!

While I definitely did and still do have a lot of ideas that I wanted to write down, I think it would be much better if I post as and when it is convenient. I do feel this would improve the quality of posts so both my readers and I can enjoy what I write.


DEADLINES ARE A NIGHTMARE

I understand that publishers need a certain number of reviews by a certain date. However, when it comes to reading, deadlines just don’t work for me. They cloud both my opinion of the book and my experience of reading it. I’m still figuring out how to plan around this one.


I HAVE A BOOKSTAGRAM!

I started an Instagram account for the blog in April and so far I have loved posting on there! I post bookish pictures fairly regularly and you can check it out here! My handle on there is meandmymundane life.

screenshot_2019-10-30-20-15-27-71.png

I am also looking for other Bookstagrammers to follow so if you’re on there then either leave your account handles in the comments or dm me on Instagram so I can find you!

Untitled design

And that’s about it! I’m sorry if this post was kind of a bummer. I’m glad I’m back and I can’t wait to get back to posting.

Until next time –

Project - Drawing 1154285076

7 comments

Leave a comment