Book Review – A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab

Title – A Conjuring of Light

Author – V.E. Schwab

Genre – Fantasy, Young Adult

My Rating – 5/5

Untitled design

GOODREADS BLURB

Goodreads Link

Witness the fate of beloved heroes – and enemies.

THE BALANCE OF POWER HAS FINALLY TIPPED…
The precarious equilibrium among four Londons has reached its breaking point. Once brimming with the red vivacity of magic, darkness casts a shadow over the Maresh Empire, leaving a space for another London to rise.

WHO WILL CRUMBLE?
Kell – once assumed to be the last surviving Antari – begins to waver under the pressure of competing loyalties. And in the wake of tragedy, can Arnes survive?

WHO WILL RISE?
Lila Bard, once a commonplace – but never common – thief, has survived and flourished through a series of magical trials. But now she must learn to control the magic, before it bleeds her dry. Meanwhile, the disgraced Captain Alucard Emery of the Night Spire collects his crew, attempting a race against time to acquire the impossible.

WHO WILL TAKE CONTROL?
And an ancient enemy returns to claim a crown while a fallen hero tries to save a world in decay.

Untitled design

MY REVIEW

Ugh. I cannot believe this was the end of the series. I NEED MORE LILA AND KELL. UGH.

A Conjuring of Light is the final book in my favorite series of all time, Shades of Magic. You can check out my reviews of A Darker Shade of Magic and A Gathering of Shadows in the given link.

It took me a while to get this book and it was so totally worth the wait. This book has an interesting plot, amazing writing and quite frankly the best characters I’ve ever read about. I absolutely LOVE Kell and Lila and Alucard and Rhy. They’re just fantastic!

I can’t really write much in this review that isn’t me gushing about my favorite series ever, so instead, here are my favorite quotes from the book.

 

“Love and loss,” he said, “are like a ship and the sea. They rise together. The more we love, the more we have to lose. But the only way to avoid loss is to avoid love. And what a sad world that would be.” 

 

“She was a thief, a runaway, a pirate, a magician.
She was fierce, and powerful, and terrifying.
She was still a mystery.
And he loved her.” 

 

“I have never known what to make of you. Not since the day we met. And it terrifies me. You terrify me. And the idea of you walking away again, vanishing from my life, that terrifies me most of all.” 

 

“You think this is a bad idea,” he said. It wasn’t a question. But it sparked something in Lila, rekindled the fire in her eyes and ignited a grin. 
“Without a doubt.”
“Then why are you smiling?”
“Because,” she said, “bad ideas are my favorite kind.” 

 

“It doesn’t matter what someone is. Only what they think they are.” 

 

“I’m beginning to think that thrones make tyrants of us all.” 

If you’re into the Fantasy genre, please do check out the Shades of Magic series by V.E. Schwab and I do hope you enjoy it!

Untitled design

And that’s all for today! Hope you have a great day! Until next time –

Project - Drawing 1154285076

Leave a comment