Top 5 Wednesday – Most Disappointing Reads of 2018

Hi everyone and welcome to Top 5 Wednesdays! For those of you who don’t know, Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted on a Goodreads group, the link to which I’ve included here in case any of you would like to join. Today’s topic is Most Disappointing Reads of 2018 and it took me a ridiculous amount of time to compile this list because I just came across so many books last year that didn’t live up to my expectations!

Here’s my top 5 for the week. All my reviews for the books have been linked.

Untitled design

BATMAN: NIGHTWALKER BY MARIE LU

29749090

I thought this was just me but I read tons of reviews online that seemed to follow my exact thought process. I had high expectations from the DC Icons series after Wonder Woman and to call it subpar would be an understatement. I was pretty disappointed with the book and its made me reconsider reading the rest of the series.


WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI BY SANDHYA MENON

28458598

As an Indian, I was honestly pretty excited about Indian rep in a book final. I just wish the story and writing were better. This book was so cheesy and predictable and definitely disappointed me a lot.


DOROTHY MUST DIE BY DANIELLE PAIGE

Image result for dorothy must die

This was one of the first reads of 2018 and I’m not motivated to pick up the rest of the series anymore honestly. It just wasn’t that great. In fact, I didn’t even write up a review for it.


BIG LITTLE LIES BY LIANE MORIARTY

19486412

This one’s on me really. I made the mistake of watching the TV series before I read the book. After watching Reese Witherspoon, Nicole Kidman and Shailene Woodley bring these amazing characters to life, the book just fell a little flat for me. Kind of disappointing really!


ALWAYS AND FOREVER, LARA JEAN BY JENNY HAN

35247769

This series was cute enough but the conclusion was not my favorite. Lara Jean and Peter had just become so needy by the end! I hated it. It was kind of a sob fest really. I was pretty disappointed that the conclusion wasn’t great!

Untitled design

And that’s all for today! Hope you have a great day! Until next time –

Project - Drawing 1154285076

2 comments

  1. Great post!

    I loved Big Little Lies the novel and TV Series the same amount. Although, I get what you’re saying. Can’t wait for Season 2.

    I just finished reading To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han. I watched the movie adaptation the next day. I thought the book and movie were so good! Not sure when I’ll read the next book in the series.

    Hoping to read Love, Simon next.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment